Our History

The Naze Tower is grade 2* listed by Historic England for unique architectural and historic interest and is the only one of its kind in existence. Over the years the Tower has had numerous uses, particularly during times of war.

1720

Constructed by Trinity House as a navigation mark for ships sailing in and out of the busy port of Harwich.

1760s - 70s

Venue for ‘tea parties’ - highly sociable meetings of the wealthy.

1803-15

Used during the Napoleonic Wars as a look out, beacon and signalling station.

Early 1900s

The Royal Navy used signalling flags and semaphore at the Tower to practise manoeuvres out at sea.

1914 - 1918

Used by the military in WWI with sentry boxes added on two elevations, enabling a wide survey of the Orwell estuary.

1939 - 1945

Became a radar tower during WWII with operators stationed in the Tower and a Chain Home Low Radar Dish installed on the roof.

1950s - 60s

Used by the American Airforce for communication during the ‘Cold War’ era.

1970s - 80s

Harwich Haven Port Authority, the police and coastguard all had communications aerials mounted on the top of the Tower.

1996

The Tower was bought by the current owners. It’s derelict state meant it was on Historic England’s ‘Heritage at Risk’ register.

2004

After extensive restoration including reinstatement of the castellations at the top, the Towers doors were opened to the public for the first time in its history.

2015-16

Further restoration was undertaken with the assistance of Historic England, costing £250,000.

2021 onwards

As custodians of the Naze Tower our purpose is to maintain, promote and run this historic landmark so it can be enjoyed by the public now and in the future.

front page museum pic

support us

NAZE TOWER © 2021. All Rights Reserved